More ‘Lightyear’ Books Listed Online

After my discovery of Lightyear books on Amazon the other day, some searching online has turned up even more!

There are five new books available for pre-order on Amazon, in Kindle edition only so far, all by RH Disney:

  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear Pictureback
    This 8×8 storybook is based on Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. Girls and boys ages 3 to 7 will love this 8×8 storybook based on the animated feature film, in theaters June 17th, 2022.
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear Little Golden Book
    This Little Golden Book is based on Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. This Little Golden Book retelling the animated feature film is perfect for girls and boys ages 2 to 5, as well as Disney Little Golden Book collectors of all ages!
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear: The Graphic Novel
    This hardcover full-color graphic novel retells the exciting story of Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Perfect for children ages 6 to 9! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. 
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear Step Into Reading, Step 2
    This Step 2 Step into Reading leveled reader is based on Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. Girls and boys ages 4 to 6 will love this Step 2 Step into Reading leveled reader based on the animated feature film. 
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear Step Into Reading, Step 3
    This Step 3 Step into Reading leveled reader is based on Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. Girls and boys ages 5 to 7 will love this Step 3 Step into Reading leveled reader based on the animated feature film.

And on the Penguin Random House website (the “RH” in RH Disney), a total of nine books are listed as coming soon – the five above, all in printed format, along with these four:

  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear Big Golden Book
    This Big Golden Book is based on Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. This Big Golden Book retelling the animated feature film is perfect for girls and boys ages 2 to 5, as well as Disney collectors of all ages!
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear Tabbed Board Book
    This sturdy tabbed board book is based on Disney/Pixar Lightyear – in theaters summer 2022! Perfect for children ages 0 to 3! Disney/Pixar Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022.
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear: The Junior Novelization
    This paperback junior novelization retells the exciting story of Disney and Pixar’s upcoming animated feature film Lightyear – in theaters Summer 2022! The Junior Novelization comes with a full-color insert full of scenes from the film! Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. The thrilling film is all retold in this digest junior novelization that’s perfect for girls and boys ages 6 to 9. 
  • Disney/Pixar Lightyear: The Deluxe Junior Novelization
    This hardcover deluxe junior novelization retells the exciting story of Disney and Pixar’s upcoming animated feature film Lightyear – in theaters Summer 2022! The Deluxe Junior Novelization also comes with a full-color insert full of scenes from the film and a pull-out movie poster! Lightyear is a sci-fi action-adventure and the definitive origin story of Buzz Lightyear (voice of Chris Evans) – the hero who inspired the toy. The film reveals how a young test pilot became the Space Ranger that we all know him to be today. Lightyear is directed by Angus MacLane, produced by Galyn Susman, and opens in theaters in Summer 2022. The thrilling film is all retold in this hardcover deluxe junior novelization that’s perfect for girls and boys ages 6 to 9.

These are standard children’s book formats that we saw for Toy Story 4, and even all the way back to Toy Story 3 and the years in between. All are priced under $15.

Lastly, Target has all of of the books above listed for pre-order as well, along with a couple by Disney Books:

  • Lightyear Picture Book
    Inspired by Disney and Pixar’s film Lightyear! This hardcover jacketed picture book captures the humor and antics of Buzz and his new friend in this story inspired by the film. Featuring beautiful artwork and packed with heart and humor, this book is perfect for fans of Buzz Lightyear. (Ages 4-8)
  • Lightyear Middle Grade Novel
    Based on Disney and Pixar’s film Lightyear! This middle grade novel is a sci-fi, space adventure following the events of the film from the unique perspective of the film’s co-lead. With an exclusive first-person narrative and other original content, readers will be thrilled by this heroic adventure, to infinity and beyond! (Ages 9-12)

Both of these books are described as juvenile fiction/science fiction, with the theme of space exploration. Slightly pricier than the RH Disney books, the picture book is $16.99 and the novel is $10.99. (I ended up finding them on Amazon, too, after a little more digging, here and here.)

One thing we can take away from these two new books is the mention of Buzz’s new friend and co-lead, who is obviously going to be important enough to the plot to warrant a whole novel with them as narrator. Of course a new character isn’t really a surprise, since it’s not set in the familiar Toy Story world and a whole new cast of characters is inevitable. I think right now I’m most intrigued by the novels, and the Big Golden Book because it specifically mentions that it will appeal to collectors of all ages.

All of these books have the same release date of May 3, 2022 as the ones I found before. Even though the summaries are similarly vague and there’s no cover art yet, it’s still exciting to know what’s on the way! I also find it interesting how many books are listed for very young children. Toy Story has been marketed extensively to preschoolers and elementary school-age children for decades, but with Lightyear being a sci-fi action-adventure in a completely different setting, I was wondering a little if this would change at all. Based on all the publications in the works, Buzz will still be very kid-friendly in this new iteration, too – not that I’d expect otherwise from Pixar, but you never really know.

There probably will be a few more books pop up online in the next several months, like the ones that play sounds from the film, or coloring and activity books. Those don’t usually offer much as far as story clues go, though. I’m just ready to get a little more concrete info about Lightyear, and hope that there will be something new about it within the next month!

Logo image © Disney/Pixar.